the true meaning of gratitude

We’ve all heard it before… the importance of gratitude and how it is the key to a happy, healthy and fulfilling life. But for many this is a very difficult task. Some of us can’t see past our hurt, sadness and pain, so much so that we believe that we have nothing to be grateful for. Some of us can be grateful for the little blessings and moments of happiness that come to us, but fail to find gratitude in the challenges that life presents. This cripples us in life because we will never learn to love ourselves unconditionally. This keeps us from connecting with our heart and our true self, and ultimately keeps us from living the fulfilling life that each human being wants.

The key to true gratitude is being grateful for all the things that happen in our lives, good and bad. Remember that everything in life comes to us in perfect balance of good and bad, challenge and support. What that means is that even the darkest moments of our lives, bring to us blessings. To live a happy and fulfilled life we need to look at those dark moments of our lives and find the blessings. You must ask yourself the following questions:

      What support did it provide you with?

 

      What lessons were there for you to learn from that experience?

 

      How are you a better person from having lived through that experience?

 

    What or whom is in your life now as a result of that experience?

Go through the darkest moments of your life one by one, and find the reasons to be grateful. Take your time with this. Give it a lot of thought and meditation. Keep a journal of all your thoughts and realizations as they come. As you work through your life you will learn a lot about yourself and you will be able to love yourself unconditionally, as well as choices you’ve made in life. Feel free to go back to your answers and tweak them again and again as you grow and become more in tuned with yourself . And use this method when looking at difficult situations in the present.

Once you are grateful for all that has happened in your life, good and bad, then and only then will you find true gratitude. You’ll know when you’ve reached that level of true gratitude because that will be the moment when you can look back on your life and say “I would do it all over again exactly the same way because it makes me the person that I am today”. This is a very powerful thought because not only does it mean you’ve found true gratitude, but it also means that you’ve also found unconditional love for yourself and for life. This leads to a strong connection to your heart which will guide you to make the right choices and changes in your life, and thereby opening the door to a truly happy, healthy and fulfilling life!

About the writer

So yes, you've guessed it...I am in the process of getting divorced. Now surely I've had many challenges along the way, but I can honestly say that it has truly been the most eye opening experience of my life. Although it's never what you plan or hope for and it can be truly devastating when you realize it's happening, but it can also have a silver lining if you look for it...once you get through the guilt, anger, self-loathing, several pints of Haagen Dazs and a crate or two of wine of course. My divorce not only got me out of a very unhealthy relationship, but it also opened the door for me to reshape my entire life. So after a year of loafing, I am getting my ass off my couch and into gear to transform everything that I know has not been doing me any justice in my life. I went from trying to be the perfect daughter to trying to be the perfect wife, constantly accepting that which was imposed on me and living my life on auto pilot. Well, all that is about to change. 2012 is finally over and the new year is here, and this will be the year that I change my life and make it what I want it to be. This blog will document my experiences and hopefully help other men and women in the same boat to find some sort of inspiration. I would also like to hear from those of you who have some tips, advice or inspiring stories of your own to share. For many of us, just knowing that there are others who have lived to tell their stories with somewhat of a happy ending, is inspiration enough. Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

