the promise

How many times do we as women make a promise to love, honor and cherish someone else, and yet never seem to make that same promise to the one that matters most. Ourselves!  This is my promise to myself….

I, the writer, promise to love, honor and cherish myself, for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health, from this day forward, until tell death do us part.

I promise to let go of the pains of the past, and to see the hidden blessings in each of them that made me the person that I am today.

I promise to not anticipate the future, and be grateful for all that I am blessed with right now.

I promise to let go of all that has been holding me back and let the journey of life unveil itself to me at every moment.

I promise to let go of all the anger, hurt and frustration that has kept me caged in my own prison for so long, and to embrace life and love with a pure and open heart.

I promise to love and be loved unconditionally for the person that I am.

I promise to live each and every day as though it were my last.

I promise to always follow my heart no matter how scary it might seem.

I promise that from this day forward, life will never be the same again.

About the writer

So yes, you've guessed it...I am in the process of getting divorced. Now surely I've had many challenges along the way, but I can honestly say that it has truly been the most eye opening experience of my life. Although it's never what you plan or hope for and it can be truly devastating when you realize it's happening, but it can also have a silver lining if you look for it...once you get through the guilt, anger, self-loathing, several pints of Haagen Dazs and a crate or two of wine of course. My divorce not only got me out of a very unhealthy relationship, but it also opened the door for me to reshape my entire life. So after a year of loafing, I am getting my ass off my couch and into gear to transform everything that I know has not been doing me any justice in my life. I went from trying to be the perfect daughter to trying to be the perfect wife, constantly accepting that which was imposed on me and living my life on auto pilot. Well, all that is about to change. 2012 is finally over and the new year is here, and this will be the year that I change my life and make it what I want it to be. This blog will document my experiences and hopefully help other men and women in the same boat to find some sort of inspiration. I would also like to hear from those of you who have some tips, advice or inspiring stories of your own to share. For many of us, just knowing that there are others who have lived to tell their stories with somewhat of a happy ending, is inspiration enough. Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

